With a Ph.D. in Physics earned at Texas A&M University, he has served as:

  • Professor Emeritus, Department of Physics, University of Colorado (2005-present)
  • Professor Adjunct, College of Music, University of Colorado (2008-2012)
  • Visiting Professor, Department of Physics, Tokyo University of Science (2008,2009)
  • Director, Center of  Nanoscale Science and Engineering, University of Kentucky (2005-2007)
  • Professor  (visiting), Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Kentucky (2005-2007)
  • Professor, Department of Physics, University of Colorado 1990-2005
  • Distinguished Professor of Physics, University of Arkansas, 1986-89
  • Technical Manager, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology, California, 1985-86
  • Task Manager, Solar Energy Research Institute (National Renewable Energy Laboratory), Golden, Colorado, 1980-85
  • Professor of Physics, Tulane University, New Orleans, Louisiana, 1975-81 (Assistant Professor 1967-70; Associate Professor 1970-75)
  • Senior Research Scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology, 1965-67

He is author of more than 270 refereed journal articles and 31 US patents; Founding editor of Marcel  Dekker Inc. (Taylor & Francis)  Applied Physics book series (7 books currently published)

Al has earned many honors in his scientific endeavors  including being selected as:

  • Fellow of the American Physical Society – citation includes invention and development of lithium iodine cardiac pacemaker battery (This work was also cited in the awarding of two NASA outstanding achievement awards in 1970 & 1972).
  • Person of the year, 1989, Superconductivity week, for co-discovery of the world’s highest critical-temperature superconducting material, a thallium cuprate.
  • Member of the team which received the IR100 award on behalf of the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL, formerly SERI) for the copper-indium diselenide solar cell developed jointly by Boeing and NREL
  • Distinguished scientist award, American Association of Physics Teachers, 1986-87.
  • Member of the Academy of Distinguished Graduates, Texas A& M University